1. Home
  2. Introduction
  3. Current status of Icheon
  4. History
  • Originally, Icheon was a territory under Baekje Dynasty during the Three Kingdoms of Korea.
  • Called Namcheon-hyeon while belong to Goguryeo Dynasty during the 26th king named King Jangsoo in the year of 63
  • Became a providence hall called Namcheon-ju during the Silla dynasty of 24th King Jinheung.
  • In the 16th year of King Kyeongdeok, 35th king of Silla Dynasty, it was re-named as Hwangmoo-hyeon and designated as a memorial place for heroic souls for Gwangjoo (Gwangjoo city currently).
  • King Taejo from Goryeo Dynasty names Icheon-gun and King Gojong
  • In the year of 44 by the 34th King Gojong, it was named as Youngchang
  • In 8th year of 34th King Gongyang, it was named as Namcheon-gun
  • In the 1st year of Yi Taejo Dynasty, it became Icheon-hyeon with a local authority called “Gammu”, and the year of 13 during the 3rd King Taejong, governing authority called “Hyeongam” was assigned
  • In the 26th year of King Sejong, it became Doho-bu as an appointed place for vice-envoy
  • During the Gabo Reform, it became Icheon-gun as it is currently
  • It became Bubal-myeon from two myeons of Bu-myeon and Bal-myeon as a result of the administration’s division and merging
  • It used to be called Ho-myeon but became Hobeop-myeon after the administration’s division and merging
  • Became Seolsung-myeon by using the letter of “Seol” from the Mountain Seolsung on the east side and “Sung” from Nosung Mountain on the west side.
  • Became Sindoon-myeon from merging Sin-myeon and Doon-myeon
  • During development of the administration, Dae-myeon, Wol-myeon, and Cho-myeon became Daewol-myeon, and integration of Sangyul-myeon and Hayul-myeon became Yul-myeon
  • Baek-myeon and Sa-myeon was integrated to Baeksa-myeon
  • Ma-myeon and Jang-myeon became Majang-myeon
  • From integration of the administrative districts, Mo-myeon and Ga-myeon became Moga-myeon
  • Most of Eumjook-myeon was merged to Icheon-gun
  • Eupnae-myeon was promoted to Icheon-eup
  • Cheongmi-myeon was prompted to become Janghowon-eup
  • Established Choji brach office in Daewol-myeon
  • Bubal-myeon was promoted to become Bubal-eup
  • Icheon-gun was promoted to Icheon City
  • Icheon-eup was divided into Changjeon-dong, Joonli-dong, and Gwango-dong
  • Closed Choji brach office in Daewol-myeon (4 Ri’s of Daewol-myeon, Danwol-ri, Jangrok-ri, Daepo-ri, and Godang-ri were integrated into Joongri-dong)
  • Anheung-dong, Galsan-dong, Jeungpo-dong, and Songjeong-dong were separated from Changjeong-dong and became Jeungpo-dong (Administrative districts were adjusted to 32 dong’s and 279 ban’s)

The Origin

According to the literature, before the Goryeo dynasty, it used to be called Namcheon. Nammae, and Hwangmae. Later when Wangun arrived Bokhacheon to fight the troops of Hubaekje but was not able to cross the stream due to a flood, however, someone named Seomok helped, so Wangun was able to cross.

Later Wangun honored the victory from this area and quoted two letters of “I” and “Cheon” from “Iseopdaecheon”, and began to call “Icheon” to this day. (Dongguk Yeoji Seungram, Noojeong Edition) In addition, based on another story, when King Taejo Wangun was on his way to the southern region conquest, he asked for a fortune telling while he stationed and the fortune saying told him to name the area Icheon, so he granted the name Icheon. (Dongguk Yeoji Seungram Gojeok edition)

The meaning of the name was “It was advantageous since they were able to cross a big stream”. In the Book of Changes, Zhouyi “Iseopdaecheon” appears fourteen times and it mostly means that “when you build virtues, learning and physical strength, big streams that can be considered as tough times can be crossed and contribute with great honors, thus the whole world benefit”.